La Scena Musicale

Tuesday, 11 January 2011

Youtube Symphony Members Announced

By Crystal Chan

This March, 101 handpicked musicians from around the globe will convene in Sydney, Australia to rehearse and perform together for the very first time. It's the second edition of the Youtube Symphony Orchestra, a phenomenon which launched December 1, 2010 when musicians of all backgrounds were invited to 'audition by youtube.' Contestants posted a video of their performance of Tan Dun's Internet Symphony No. 1 'Eroica' and another preset audition piece. Finalists were chosen by judges and then voted on by the public.

This year's orchestra auditions followed a similar process, with hopeful musicians performing Mothership, a piece composed especially for the Youtube Symphony Orchestra by American composer Mason Bates. There were over 300 finalists, and the lucky 101 includes a vuvuzela player.
The ensemble's March 20, 2011 performance from the Syndney Opera House will be led by Maestro Michael Tilson Thomas. The concert will be broadcast live. 

This year, musicians represent 30 countries and their ages range from 14 to 49. They form a mix of professional and amateur musicians. The piece features four soloists; their instruments are: electric guitar (Brazil), violin (USA), the guzheng (China), and electric double bass (Australia). Canadian members include violist Sarah Tradewell (Victoria), flutist Paul Hung (Vancouver), violinist Allene Chomyn (Langley), double bassist Richard Carnegie (Burlington, Ont), and percussionist Michelle Hwu (Toronto). All five are music professionals or music students.

Labels: , ,


  • I'm surprised this didn't happen sooner. In the next five or ten years, I think most orchestras will be conducting the first round of auditions online as a cost-saving measure. Of course it will not be through YouTube or social networks, but online nonetheless. A lot of my work as a session drummer is done online these days, a trend many are moving toward.

    By Anonymous Session Drummer Shay Godwin, At 19 September 2011 at 23:36  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home