La Scena Musicale

Tuesday, 12 July 2011

The Canadian Music Competition: 2011 Grand Prize winners

By Rona Nadler

The Canadian Music Competition has announced its 2011 Grand Prize winners. Over two hundred young musicians from all over the country competed in the finals, held in Montreal from June 20-July 4. Grand Prizes for each age category were awarded to Kirsten MacKinnon, soprano (Burnaby, BC), Jason Kangsan Lee, piano (Missisauga, ON), Nicole Li, violin (Toronto, ON), Stephen Nguyen, piano (Calgary, AB), and Tiffany Yeung, violin (Richmond Hill, ON). The winners will give three performances with the Orchestre Métropolitain under the baton of Alain Trudel: a gala concert on July 14 at Centre Pierre-Charbonneau, at Parc La Fontaine on July 18, and in Dorval's Parc Millénaire on July 21.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home